Insights from an Adventure Junkie- Part 5: Scary? You ain’t kiddin’!

I was lying on the table, cold jelly on my belly, when the sonogram technician gasped, “I see two!”

I immediately said, “Two what?  Arms, legs, eyes, ears, what?”

In awe, she said, “Two babies!”

As I processed the information I heard “Oh my god, oh my god, oh my god” from my previously not-very-religious husband.  

I was busy doing the math.  Our firstborn was 9 months old.  Add another 9 months, multiply the babies by 3….I’ve never been very good at math but to me it seemed like more babies than hands.  How was a person supposed to change that many diapers?  Was nursing even an option?  Oh no…..would I ever sleep again???

But 9 months later with newborn twins on my belly and my toddler by the hospital bed I knew I was about to embark on my biggest adventure yet.

And let me tell you they never disappoint.

1.  Vaulting out of the crip at 18 months.

2.  Scaling not one, but two gates, covered in vaseline.

3.  A secret language to telepathically concoct ideas to scare me to death.

4.  The lovely game of “throw balls at mommy’s head and run”.

5.  Listening at the kitchen window to them dreaming up ways to get onto the roof.

6.  Growing into negotiators to rival Trump.

7.  At age 7 one said, “Mommy, I’m on to that reverse psychology stuff.”

8.  Tree climbing, wrestlemania, speedy little legs, …and incessant, “I didn’t do it!”

9.  The cocky little voice that would say, “You can’t get mad mom.  We are just like YOU.”

Sigh.

 

If you can’t change ’em…And you love ’em so much kicking them out isn’t an option…It’s time to find the lesson.

1.  Their constant adapting to parenting strategy after parenting strategy has forced me to fully embrace and love the discomfort  of change.

2.  Elizabeth Stone said this about having children, “It is to decide forever to have your heart go walking around outside your body.”  This concept is true and the vulnerability of parenting awakens your soul to the reality of the human existence. 

3.  Unconditional love trumps all.  Always.  We should cultivate more of it.

4.  No job is harder or more rewarding than parenting.

5.  Daily steps outside your comfort zone are necessary.  All of my adventures gave me the skills to parent these 3 crazy sweet boys.  And these boys are giving me the skills to finally, truly know myself. 

With all this learning one would think I would settle down and start knitting or something.  But NO.  Seeing the fire in my boys and the light they get from my spirit I know that embracing my love of adventure is teaching them to accept and love themselves fully.

And now it’s your turn to JOIN the FUN.  I’m having a contest.  Comment on this post with your ideas for my next adventure.  If I choose your idea you will win an exotic trip and mention in my next book.  You up for the challenge??  Can’t wait to hear what you come up with!

 

 

 

 

Reach me at heather@fireinfive.com

About FindYourFire

Writer, speaker, and life coach Heather O'Neill is president of Progressive Image and creator of the Fire in Five program...helping people reconnect and find the joy in their lives.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Insights from an Adventure Junkie- Part 5: Scary? You ain’t kiddin’!

  1. Your next adventure should stretch your comfort zone in a direction you would never expect. Since jumping out of airplanes or swinging from a trapeze have already been done, how about something that will give you an added dimension to your speeches? Standup Comedy Workshop! It will stretch your mind as much as it will stretch your funny bone. I can see you smiling already !

  2. Becky Rovinelli says:

    Heather, I love you blog. I must say adventure is in the eye of the beholder. I have a bucket list that I update and add to yearly. I am sending my oldest daughter in a week to a volunteer trip with Earthwatch. I think that is an amazing adventure you should look into. I know I will be be booking one for myself. An adventure you can give back on. Matches my life right now.

Leave a comment